top of page

Why Study in Spain?


Immersion is without a doubt the most effective way to learn about another culture. Having gone through it once before, I can also attest to the fact that the first few days are especially terrifying!

After falling in love with the Spanish language in high school, I jumped at the opportunity to participate in a medical mission trip and homestay experience in rural Paraguay last summer. When I was dropped off at my host family's home I was excited to meet everyone - in fact, they threw a small party to welcome me - yet my ability to interact was so limited that I mostly just sat there, embarrassed and unable to converse. Though I grew more accustomed to the people, language, and culture, by the end of my six-week trip I felt like I had barely scratched the surface!

That's why I am so thrilled to be able to study abroad in Spain for an entire semester this spring. While there, one of the primary skills I hope to acquire is an increased understanding of the Spanish language. Because I will be immersed for such a long period of time, I am hopeful that I will become fairly fluent, and that my classes will further refine my conversational and literacy skills. Additionally, I wish to gain an appreciation the cultural distinctions of Valencia and try to assimilate as best as possible. For the duration of the trip, I will be living with a host family right in the heart of the city, and they do not speak any English at all! Though it will certainly stretch my limits, I am so looking forward to the experience. These accommodations will lead to the development of a great relationship, and it provides a way to constantly be learning about the language and culture.

One way that I hope to apply this new appreciation of other cultures is in my future studies and career as a physician. By having an increased opportunity to practice interacting with people from cultures very different from my own, I will be able to better relate to my patients, no matter their background. Additionally, I hope to be able to use the language skills acquired in Valencia to create new opportunities to communicate with Spanish-speakers. Having the ability to speak directly to these patients can not only increase the effectiveness of such discussion but also enhance the ability to connect with and gain the trust of patients.

Studying abroad is such a unique opportunity, especially for pre-medical students who usually do not have much flexibility in their schedules. I am so thankful to be able to complete my degree a semester early so that I could have this experience, and cannot wait until I leave for Spain in less than a month!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page