top of page

A little jet-lagged, but excited to have arrived in Valencia!

It's funny how the little things can have such a major influence on a journey... While on my various planes I was able to meet people from all over the world; Nigeria, India, and of course, Spain. My confidence was growing rapidly, until I looked down during my layover in Paris to see that I spilled a little bit of my dinner on my jeans. God has a strange but effective manner of humbling me at times!

Even more importantly, I've seen God able to provide in great ways already. As there was not much time to spare at the airport in Toronto, I planned to convert my dollars to euros upon arrival in Valencia. However, when I got there, the woman at the information desk shared that I would have to go downtown to a bank in order to make the exchange. So I had to find a way downtown, without having money, so I could get some to pay someone to take me downtown... Fortunately I found a cab driver who was able to accept my debit card, and though it took him a few tries to swipe it properly, I was relieved to see it work without a doubt.

Also, it is important to note that electricity is much more expensive in Spain, so if you ever travel up an elevator in an apartment building, be sure to find where the light switch is before the elevator door closes and/or the timer shuts it off. Learned that one the hard way.

My host familly is great, there is a boy and two girls, and very similarly aged to my own siblings. Defintiely will be sharing more about them in the coming days.

Yesterday was orientation at our institute, followed by a bus tour of the city. I forced myself to simply soak it all in and not take pictures, as I plan to visit all of those places again soon! First classes begin soon, so that's all for now. ¡Hasta luego!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page