top of page

Halfway point already?!?


Whew! This past week we had our midterm exams here in Spain. While I am thankful that they went well, I am shocked that my time here in Valencia is already half over. It is incredible how much I have learned already, as I can pretty clearly understand everything when others are speaking. Now my goal is to be able to speak very clearly and participate in normal conversations without others having to wait for me to think. Part of me realizes that there is going to be a long way until then, but at the same time, I am already able to communicate far better than before, and many of the daily responses with my host family are now second nature.

This past weekend I was able to take a trip up into the mountains and go skiing! For most of the two hour drive five other Spaniards from my church and I were going uphill, where the temperature dropped at least 25 degrees F. While a little chilly at the start, once we got going it ended up being the perfect weather, plus it snowed a bit while we were there. One of the ladies who went with our group is from Columbia, and she had never seen snow before, let along skied. Quite the contrast from Ohio and Pennsylvania! As I have a bit more experience on the slopes, I took off with the other advanced skier (far better than I) and we checked out the rest of the runs. The views from the mountain were spectacular! I found out later that the town near the resort is the highest municipality in all of Spain, which is pretty cool (haha get it, cool?). I really enjoyed getting to know some of the other young adults from our church in a fun context, and it was a neat experience to spend the whole day conversing with them in Spanish, without the familiarity of my family, teachers, or American friends. Definitely learning a lot in situations such as this one, and plus now I can say that I went skiing in Spain!

I've got to get some sleep, gotta catch a bus to Madrid first thing in the morning!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page